If you have formed an LLC in Michigan, you’re in one of a handful of states that have a specific deadline for filing your Michigan LLC Annual Report. It’s important that you stay on top of the deadline and get your paperwork turned in on time so that your LLC remains compliant. Here we’ll cover the details you need to know to keep your company in good standing.
The Annual Report Deadline
If your LLC was formed with the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, your deadline for filing your Annual Report is February 15, 2015. The same deadline goes for your company if it is a Professional Limited Liability Company. Other business structures have other deadlines:
- General For Profit or Professional Service Corporation: May 15, 2015
- Nonprofit Corporation: October 1, 2015
If you filed your LLC after September 30, 2014, you can skip this year for filing your Annual Report. Otherwise, you are required to file one each year by February 15.
Michigan LLC Annual Report Fees and Requirements
The fee for submitting your Annual Report with the state of Michigan is just $25. On your paperwork, you will need to submit an updated document with your company’s contact information, as well as details on officers/directors, purposes, resident agent, registered office, et cetera, especially if any of this information has changed.
Other documents you may need to accompany your Annual Report include:
- Certificate of Amendment to the Articles of Organization, CSCL/CD-715 (Fee – $25) Your LLC may amend its Articles of Organization to change its name, purposes, duration of the company, or otherwise amend your Articles of Organization. Your LLC cannot add, remove, or otherwise change the organizers by amending the Articles of Organization.
- Restated Articles of Organization, CSCL/CD-710 (Fee – $50) You can integrate provisions of your Articles of Organization into a single document and amend your Articles of Organization by adopting Restated Articles of Organization. When the Restated Articles of Organization become effective, this replaces your original document.
- Merger Certificate of Merger, CSCL/CD-750 (Fee – $100) Two or more limited liability companies can merge into one LLC by adopting a Plan of Merger and filing the appropriate form CSCL/CD-750.
- Certificate of Merger, Cross Entity, (Fee – $100) One or more limited liability companies can merge into any other type of business organization by adopting a plan of merger and filing this form.
- Certificate of Dissolution, CSCL/CD-731 (Fee – $10). If you dissolve your LLC, fill out this form to avoid penalties and fees.
Consequences of Filing a Late Annual Report in Michigan
If you don’t submit your Annual Report and pay the related fees within two years of the due date, your company will no longer be in good standing. To restore good standing, you must complete and submit a certificate of restoration of good standing, accompanied by the past due annual statements and fees.
There may be late fees, fines and additional costs to bringing the LLC back into good standing if you fail to file you LLC annual report on time.
Let CorpNet Help You File Your Michigan Annual Report
February 15 is rapidly approaching! Take filing your Annual Report off of your to-do list and let us help you in one of these ways:
- Ask us questions about your annual report: 1.877.522.6245 x101
- File your annual report via telephone: 1.877.522.6245 x101
- Log in to your account and file your annual report: My Account