Initial Reports for LLCs and Corporations
Several states require that Corporations and Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) file an initial report (sometimes called a “Statement of Information”) after forming their business entities. The states ask for this information to keep up to date with a company’s vital information.
Initial reports lay the foundation for the annual report filings businesses must complete as part of their ongoing compliance responsibilities. Companies must file their Initial reports with the Secretary of State office (or comparable agency) in their state.
Anyone can file a business’s initial report on its behalf. Generally, at least one LLC member or corporation’s director or officer must sign the form.
States That Require an Initial Report
- California (Statement of Information)
- Georgia (Corporations only)
- Missouri (Corporations only)
- New Mexico (Corporations only)
File an Initial Report
The information that states’ forms require varies. Most state initial report forms ask for information about the company’s business activity and other details, such as:
- Business name
- The business’s address
- Type of business activity the company will conduct
- LLC members’ and managers’ names and addresses
- The corporation’s directors’ and officers’ names and addresses
- Registered agent’s name and address
Depending on the state, there might be other details to include as well.
In most states that require an initial statement of information, businesses must pay a small filing fee when submitting their form. Nevada and Washington include the cost in their business registration fees.
For a minimal charge, CorpNet handles initial report filings for businesses to give entrepreneurs one less thing to worry about as they launch their companies.*
Deadline for Filing
Companies must file their initial reports soon after registering their LLC or C Corporation. Due dates vary by state, with most requiring the reports within 90 days of registration.
If a business fails to file its initial report on time, it could result in penalties and late fees—or even suspension or involuntary dissolution of the entity. That’s why it’s so critical for entrepreneurs to check their state’s requirements and submit their initial report on time!
How to File
Filing an initial report is a critical step in keeping your business compliant and in good standing with your state. Most states have online forms available. While Corporation and LLC initial report paperwork is usually straightforward, any errors could result in processing delays and additional costs.
Fortunately, CorpNet is here to help make sure that won’t happen to your business! Our filing experts can prepare and submit your initial statement of information for you. Moreover, we’ll ensure it’s completed accurately and submitted on time to get your company off on the right foot.
Our standard processing time is 2 – 4 weeks. If you’re up against your initial report deadline, we can expedite the filing (1 – 2 weeks) for an additional fee.
CorpNet’s Can Help
CorpNet has extensive experience and expertise working with businesses of all sizes and in all industries throughout the entire United States. Our “Excellent” rating on Trustpilot demonstrates our commitment to providing exceptional service to our customers. You’ll find that our order forms and product pages clearly display all CorpNet fees and those fees paid to state agencies for your filings. We never markup state fees to make a profit.
You can feel confident in our services because we back them with our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Count on CorpNet to make everything easy for you so that you can focus on what you do best – building your business!
*Service fees shown above do not include Shipping & Handling; Additional state fees may apply and will be quoted upon order confirmation. Prices are subject to change without notice.